Print Email Comment share on Facebook Share on twitter
Print this page
Email link to this page
Send comments about this page
Share on facebook
Share on twitter

11th Meeting of the Panel on Quarantine Pests for Forestry

(Lisbon, PT, 2007-03-20/22)

 

The Panel discussed forest pests included into the EPPO Alert list and recommended several deletions (Corythucha arcuata, Scolytus schevyrewi and Brenneria quercina) and one addition (Ips pertubatus). The Panel reviewed the phytosanitary situation in forestry in EPPO countries and concluded that in addition to the introduced species (e.g. Bursaphelenchus xylophilus, Anoplophora chinensis, Anoplophora glabripennis and Agrilus planipennis) native forest pests may now also represent increasing risks due to climate changes in the EPPO region.
The Panel discussed in detail the draft standard for ‘Commodity-specific phytosanitary measures for Coniferae’ and concluded that it was ready to be sent out for country consultation. The Panel also discussed its priority tasks for the future (development of phytosanitary measures and procedures in forestry, development of new commodity standards, revision of standards, etc.).
Infected tree
     

A technical visit to the pine forests infested by Bursaphelenchus xylophilus (pine wood nematode) helped the Panel members to clearly understand the situation and impact of this pest. It underlined the need for further work in the development of requirements for pest-free areas for B. xylophilus.

Technical visit
Pictures by A. Orlinski

Infested area
     
Tree destruction
Searching pests
Searching pests
Monochamus larva

 

Participants

Agris Bokums (Mr)
State Plant Protection Service Quarantine Department, Lielvardes str.36/38, LV1006 RIGA (LV) - 371/7550925 - 371/ 7550927 - agris.bokums@vaad.gov.lv

Hugh Evans (Mr)
Forest Research, Alice Holt Lodge, Farnham, GU 10 4LH SURREY (UK) - 44/1420526231 - 44/142023653 - hugh.evans@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Boris Hrasovec (Mr)
Faculty of Forestry, PO Box 422, 10000 ZAGREB (HR) - 385/912549892 - boris.hrasovec@zg.t-com.hr

Dusan Jurc (Mr)
Slovenian Forestry Institute, Vecna pot 2, SI-1000 LJUBLJANA (SI) - 386/12007824 - 386/12573589 - dusan.jurc@gozdis.si

Hannes Krehan (Mr)
Federal Office, Vienna Institute of Forest Protection, Seckendorff-Gudentweg 8, A-1131 VIENNA (AT) - 43/1878381128 - 43/1878381250 - hannes.krehan@chello.at

Vaclovas Kucinskas (Mr)
State Plant Protection Service, Kalvariju str. 62, 9304 VILNIUS (LT) - 370/52754353 - 370/52752128 - vaatku@vaat.lt

Oleg A. Kulinich (Mr)
All-Russian Center of Plant Quarantine, Pogranichnay Str. 32, Bykovo, 140150 MOSCOW REGION (RU) - 495/2237241 - okulinich@mail.ru

Andrej Kunca (Mr)
National Forest Centre, T.G. Masaryka St. 22, SK-96092 ZVOLEN (SK) - 421/45 6911144 - 421/45 6911044 - kunca@nlcsk.org

Ake Lindelow (Mr)
Swedish University of Agriculture Sciences, Department of Entomology, P.O. Box 7044, 75007 UPPSALA (SE) - 46/18672337 - 46/18672890 - ake.lindelow@entom.slu.se

Lucio Montecchio (Mr)
Università di Padova, Dipartimento TESAF, Viale dell' Università, I-35020 LEGNARO PD (IT) - 39/0498272883 - 39/0498272890 - montecchio@unipd.it

Bjorn Okland (Mr)
Norwegian Forest and Landscape Institute (NFLI), Hogskoleveien 12, N-1432 AAS (NO) - 47/64948000 - 47/64942980 - bjorn.okland@skogoglandskap.no

Heino Ounap (Mr)
Centre of Forest Protection and Silviculture, Roomu tee 2, 51013 TARTU (EE) - 372/7339705 - 372/7339464 - heino.ounap@metsad.ee

Antti Pouttu (Mr)
Finish Forest Research Institute, P.O.Box 18, FIN-01301 VANTAA (FI) - 358/102112576 - 358/102112204 - antti.pouttu@metla.fi

Jean-Claude Streito (Mr)
Laboratoire National de la Protection des Végétaux, Unité d'Entomologie Sup Agro, 2 place Viala,
34060 MONTPELLIER (FR) - 33/499612845 - 33/499612393 - streito@ensam.inra.fr

Alfred Wulf (Mr)
BBA, Institute für Planzenschutz im Forst, Messeweg 11/12, 38104 BRAUNSCHWEIG (DE) - 49/5312994600 - 49/5312993011 - a.wulf@bba.de

Milan Zubrik (Mr)
National Forest Centre, T.G. Masaryka St. 22, SK-96092 ZVOLEN (SK) - 421/45 5320316 - 421/45 5314192 - zubrik@nlcsk.org

Nico van Opstal (Mr)
Andrei Orlinski (Mr)
OEPP/EPPO, 1 rue Le Nôtre, 75016 PARIS (FR) - 33/1 45 20 77 94 - 33/1 42 24 89 43 - hq@eppo.int

Observers
Petr Kapitola (Mr)
State Phytosanitary Administration, Department of Pest Risk Analyses, Drnovska 507, 16106 Praha 6 (CZ) - 420/233022441 - 420/233022226 - petr.kapitola@srs.cz

Edmundo Sousa (Mr)
Forestry National Station, Avenida da Republica, Quinta do Marquês, 2780-159 OEIRAS (PT) - 351/214463712 – 351/214463701 - edmundo.sousa@efn.com.pt

 

Back to 2007 meetings